Presentation and objective

The Rehabilitation Centre for the Blind is in operation since 12 of October 1960 having, in this half a century of existence, contributed for the aid in integrating those who possess a physical disadvantage that should not deprived them of a normal life.

The Centre was created under the auspices of the "American Foundation For Overseas Blind Inc", being directed and managed by the Macau Holy House of Mercy since 1963. One must also refer that, since 1900 the Fraternity had been providing assistance to the "Chinese blind" through a subsidy granted to the Canossian Sisters, which received and supported them.

The Centre is inserted the social welfare role of the Macau Holy House of Mercy Mission, serving as a leisure and rehabilitation centre for about 50 blind persons, from both genders, with age above 16. This facility is at the moment attended by blind persons with ages between 3 and 70 years old.

The Centre operates from Monday to Thursday between 8:30 and 17:15 and on Friday between 8:30 and 17:00.

Ms. Leong Sut Mui directs the Centre.

Mission

The Rehabilitation Centre for the Blind has as a mission to render services that are useful for the blind community, having as objective their integration in the community life through diverse activities that aim to increase their autonomy and qualities.

The fulfilment of this mission depends on the integration and on the promotion of diverse activities such as the production of hosiery, rattan and wicker, developing the productive skills of the users of the Centre. Recreational activities are also organized and groups are setup for the learning of computer science and Braille.

Earlier, social rehabilitation of the blind persons, through vocational training, within their learning capacities was the main mission of this Centre. The objective that guided this Centre was the complete integration of the blind persons in the community and their autonomy, looking, as far as possible, the mitigation of the effects of their physical disability. However, it was never possible to find placement for those students, having the Centre developed also in their capacity of workshop of the own users.

Location and contacts

The Rehabilitation Centre for the Blind is located in the north part of the city, at Avenida General Castelo Branco, n.º 14, near the Canidromo.

Telephone: 28 574 373

Fax: 28 574 373

The facilities

Besides adequately equipped rooms, with air conditioning system, the Rehabilitation Centre for the Blind possesses facilities and equipment that assist in the users learning and development process.

The Rehabilitation Centre for the Blind has capacity for 50 blind persons, having the renovation work been concluded in November 2003 allowing greater comfort and attributes.

簡介和目標

盲人重建中心自19601012日開始正式運作,在這半個多世紀的歷程中,孜孜不倦地幫助有嚴重視障的人士融入社會,過正常的生活。

該中心是在"美國盲人基金會海外公司"的支持下建立的,自1963年起由澳門仁慈堂督導和管理。事實上,可以追溯到更早時期,仁慈堂早在一九零零年已向中國籍失明人士提供援助,因仁慈堂由該年起資助嘉諾撒修女,使修女們能照顧她們收容的失明人士。 

盲人重建中心貫徹澳門仁慈堂在社會福利方面的宗旨,成為約50位盲人的休憩和康復中心。16歲以上患有嚴重視障人士都可申請服務。目前來中心的學員主要是24歲至70歲之間的嚴重視障人士。

中心開放時間為星期一到星期四:8:30 17:15;星期五:8:30 17:00

盲人重建中心的主任為梁雪梅女士。

使命

盲人重建中心的使命是為失明人士或患有嚴重視障的人提供有效的服務,通過多樣化的活動,提高他們的自主性和生活品質,以幫助他們更健康地融入社會。

為實現該使命,中心為學員舉辦多樣化的職業訓練,如編織毛線、藤和柳條等,開發會員的謀生能力,協助視障人士融入社會,並組織與職業技術相關的康樂活動、學習電腦知識和凸字應用等。

通過對視障人士的職業培訓,協助他們融入社會是盲人重建中心的主要使命。該中心的最終目的是使視障人士完全融入社會並維持其自立能力,盡可能減輕生理上的殘疾所帶來的影響。因應個別學生可能在社會上找不到合適的就業位置,故此中心在有限的能力範圍內開辦了自己的庇護工場,為他們開闢出路。

設施

除了足夠的設施、配備齊全的房間、空調系統外,重建中心還擁有良好的管理系統,協助使用者的學習和發展過程。

盲人重建中心可提供約50位視障人士的服務,200311月完工的裝修工程使中心的環境更趨舒適,提供更完善的服務。

聯繫方式

地址:白朗古將軍大馬路 14號,逸園賽狗場附近。

電話: 28574373

傳真: 28574373